SplineLand for betatesters

duke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby duke » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:26 am

Yes it's very useful, if a little slow, but then I remembered that iterations are exponential, so 14 would be about twice the polys of 13 (and thus take twice the time), so it's important to start low and go higher rather than to start high. I tried 16 and it crashed after a while!

Karba
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:55 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby Karba » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:33 am

Iterations work like in Meshsmooth. Every next iteration 4x heavier than previous one.

duke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby duke » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:12 am

I'd much prefer to have the mesh conform exactly to Platform edges so that I can do a vol. select on that matID and delete it (and use my road mesh).
Attachments
SplineLand2.jpg
SplineLand2.jpg (111.89 KiB) Viewed 49164 times

duke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby duke » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:43 am

Karba wrote:Can I have your splines for test?


I tried to message you but I can't attach .max or .zip. What's your email?

Karba
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:55 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby Karba » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:54 am

duke wrote:
Karba wrote:Can I have your splines for test?


I tried to message you but I can't attach .max or .zip. What's your email?


Karbaras@rambler.ru

Thank you

raistlin
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby raistlin » Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:47 pm

yes, i've understand that i need as terrain, but my question is not "how can i made a terrain in spline" (because i know how to "loop" an edge and ring it and create shape...) But how can we model a real terrain juwt with geometer measures easily? For now i create some dummys and move on the Z axis on a map to have the topology, because it's easyer than create splines...

What is your workflow about it?
Take a tour on my website ;)
http://www.vincent-grieu.com

peprgb
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:39 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby peprgb » Thu Jan 19, 2012 3:35 pm

Is working pretty fine!!

raistlin i think the most common way is to have a .dwg file with the contour lines (made by someone else), like this:

http://orppo.com/images/sl_00.jpg

This is a quick test, 11 iterations and a platform (really cool the resulting mesh):

http://orppo.com/images/sl_0.jpg
http://orppo.com/images/sl_1.jpg

Though the mesh is greater than the "bounding box" of the contour lines. For now i can't imagine the use of the SplineLand modifier...

here the dwg if you want to play with it (AutoCAD dwg 2000 version):

http://orppo.com/images/sl_test.zip

Best regards
Last edited by peprgb on Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

raistlin
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby raistlin » Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:38 pm

thanks for the answer Peprgb, but i never have a .dwg like that to work... And nobodys send me a thing like that unfortunatelly...
So, i've to make it point by point, and trace each spline... boring...

I have ear there is some site where we can download rasterize file format like that, if you know some of them, i should be interest...

thanks in advance.

I've test some terrain and it work great in all! Jus have some problems with the "id" which are not really clean for now, but it's a beta :) and i'm sure it could work great with some textures!

Cheers
Take a tour on my website ;)
http://www.vincent-grieu.com

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 448
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:44 pm

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby admin » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:16 pm

duke wrote:I'd much prefer to have the mesh conform exactly to Platform edges so that I can do a vol. select on that matID and delete it (and use my road mesh).

You can make spline along edges (it can be done automatically in editpoly) of this platform and surface will be conformed.

duke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:20 am

Re: SplineLand for betatesters

Postby duke » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:43 am

admin wrote:
duke wrote:I'd much prefer to have the mesh conform exactly to Platform edges so that I can do a vol. select on that matID and delete it (and use my road mesh).

You can make spline along edges (it can be done automatically in editpoly) of this platform and surface will be conformed.


Yeah but currently SplineLand won't give the inside of a closed spline a different matID, so you'd then have to manually selected it (or with a vol select).


Return to “SplineLand”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest