My Citty Traffic review

paulov

My Citty Traffic review

Post by paulov »

Dear Coders

I'm a Civil Engineering student from BCN, I've tested your demo version of City Traffic and I've taken some time to take notes and develop this document which is my impression of the application.

I would not have take the time to do this if I didn't believe that his application has something really interesting to offer.

This has been the first time I feel I can massively populate roads with a realistic behavior system even if I've found several black points.

In this document I've focused in the points I believe need improving.

INDEX

1 CAR PLACEMENT

2 ROAD SETUP&DESIGN
---*GENERATION
---*ROAD TRAFFIC DENSITY PARAMETER

3 MOVEMENT CALCULATION

4 BEHAVIOR.
---*VEHICLE TYPE RESTRICTIONS.
---*ROUNDABOUTS.
---*PARKING TIME CONTROL.

5 MISCELANEOUS

6 PERFORMANCE ISSUES

7 DEMO VERSION LIMITATIONS

8 LICENSING

1 CAR PLACEMENT

Automatic car setup is superfast and works fine. Took me some time to understand that form top view should look as in the schema :P

I feel really uncomfortable when adding the definitive vehicles and setting its final count. Its a very messy process, and is one of the weakest point of the application.

For this process I think that an asset browser like tool is the right way to go.

The car placement window should point to a directory of .max files that would host already rigged vehicle(s). One file one car or one file with multiple cars.

In the asset control window, in one column should appear the available cars grouped by type, Car-Truck-Bus and in the right the ones that have already been selected to be in that scene.

Till here, car model selection. Now, car count.
Duplicating vehicles, making them unique... its a time consuming and boring job, especially if you want to have control over the proportion betwen car models , car types etc...

There should be two stages

1) Global Vehicle proportion in %. i.e: 80% Cars 13%buses 7% trucks.