multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post Reply
dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:29 pm

Hello, we have the following issue with VrayScatter version 4.5 or 4.514, Maya 2018.6, Vray 40403

we have multiple vrscenes with scatter systems in a maya scene. In earlier versions we could render them and it worked fine. Now as soon as we import a second vrscene the scatter systems they eliminate each other. I tried to make the names of the scatter systems unique but this does not help either. I there any way to fix this? thanks
Attachments
Screenshot (77).png
Screenshot (77).png (398.46 KiB) Viewed 250 times
Screenshot (78).png
Screenshot (78).png (484.67 KiB) Viewed 250 times
Screenshot (79).png
Screenshot (79).png (406.77 KiB) Viewed 250 times

anvar
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:34 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by anvar » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:12 pm

can you send us the scene? to mail@rendering.ru
plase also try to turn on : Render -> "Use Rayserver Instancer"

dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:03 pm

Hey, here is the scene. when you open scene.mb you have to import the two vrscenes, regards Florian
Attachments
VrayScatter.zip
(146 KiB) Downloaded 1 time

dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:07 pm

with the new instancer it works again! thanks
Attachments
Screenshot (81).png
Screenshot (81).png (523.09 KiB) Viewed 244 times

bdancer
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by bdancer » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:54 pm

It's better to start using Rayserver Instancer even for regular (non-vrscene) instancing. It's much more memory efficient.

dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:28 pm

Ok, thanks for the tip!

dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Mon Nov 11, 2019 2:55 pm

Hello, with the new RayServer Instancer type it works but it is brutal slow compared with the old method? BF + LC
I'm testing it with the latest version of VrayScatter 4.514. I have 5 scatter systems in a vrscene. No clue if it matters. Is there anything we can do about it?

dubscope
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by dubscope » Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:06 pm

Dynamic memory limit is the f... I had it on -1 with 5000,7000 it works again, 0 is fine as well

bdancer
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: multiple vrscenes with scatter

Post by bdancer » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:07 pm

Thanks for the info! Anyway, it's generally a good idea just to leave it default to 0.

Post Reply